Home Chat General Chat

£700 to spend on a bike-which one though?

hi all, i am new to the triathlon scene but consider myself quite fit doing circuit training, boxing and long distance running. my employer runs a cycle to work scheme where i can get a bike for roughly half its normal retail price. after working out my budget i can afford a bike that retails for £700 so im after advice on which one ( or style) to go for. im not sure about a road bike as i wish to use the bike over the local parks although i wouldnt be jumping down hills or anything like that. any ideas???????????????

Comments

• Hi.
    Bikes, like a lot of things, are very much a personal choice. You'd be best off test riding a few different types from your local bike shop to whittle down the options. I'd suggest taking a road bike and a hybrid around your local routes and compare the two styles (discounting a mountain bike straight off) and how they feel, how comfortable they are, etc.

There are entry level hybrids well within your budget (Cannondale Bad Boy springs immediately to mind).
    I like the look of the Scott Sub range with the Sub 30 and 20 coming well within your budget. They have flat bars, a more relaxed frame geometry (similar to MTB) and slick tyres (or 700CC road wheels) so should be fast on smooth surfaces. There are also plenty of road bikes within your budget.

If you manage to whittle down the options to specific bikes and models then maybe post up here again and ask if anybody has one and can provide feedback on the bike(s).
  • gunforhiregunforhire Posts: 457
    £700?
    Go second hand!
    Look on eBay. For £700 you should be able to pick up a bike worth twice that that hasn't had a lot of use.
  • doogledoogle Posts: 58
    From what you say you want the bike to do ( tri, park tracks etc) try a cyclo cross bike. you should be able to get an off the peg one on the cycle to work scheme as Kona, specialized and a few other makes do them.