Home Chat General Chat

bike mirrors: safe or simply un-cool?

as i keep repeating it constantly most of the regulars here know by now that i am quite new to cycling

with this being cycling week in london, and willtri witnessing that incident at old st roundabout and all the accidents involving cyclists and blah blah blah in mind, i kind of considered that getting some mirrors for my hubrid while commuting (back and forth to the west end mostly) could be a good road safety precaution...

i hardly see anyone with mirrors on though...i know safety is paramount but looking like a dork is not a good look ....

what do you guys think ....how about if i check if they come in carbon...?

Comments

• risris Posts: 1,002
    i've nothing against mirrors (helmet or bar mounted) - i can see the point of them, and plenty of times i've gone a bit wobbly when looking over my shoulder. personally, i think that a visible look with a head-turn is a good indicator to a motorist that you are thinking about a manouevre, particularly around junctions.

over time i've got less wobbly when looking as well, which means i feel happier about having a look back more often.

and they do look a bit 'middle aged audax rider' as well.
  • The more time you spend on the bike the better your bike handling skills will become. If you have good handling then I see no need for mirrors since you can comfortably look around to see what is going on behind you without any wobble, and as Ris says this also lets traffic behind know you are looking at them. Plus you can also get alot of information from your ears too.

That said, I think one of the most dangerous things on the road is cyclists who wobble and weave unpredictably. I very much doubt you (or anyone else on this site) are in this worst category of offendors, but if your bike handling skills are still improving I see no reason why a mirror wouldn't be a good idea. Safety first and all that...