Home Chat General Chat

What bike do I have ?

Hi all,
I have an older De Rosa bike, (had it for about 7 years from 2nd hand) in average condition, I have been told the older frames are a collectors item but have absolutely no idea what model mine is, and whether it's of any value.

Are there any enthusiasts out there that could give a clue as to what model or year my bike is, I've attached one bad photo but will take some more.

I also plan to sell it in about a weeks time as off abroad.

Thanks.

Comments

• huwdhuwd Posts: 228
    If it is a special frame then find some fixie rider - they will lap up an old road bike if the frame is in good condition
  • Firstly I have very little knowledge about de rosa collectability... as I guess you already know this is very dependent on the model. From a look on Wiki De Rosa Made the bikes for Eddy Merckx between 1973 ad 1978, and so I would guess that it the bikes from this timefame that would have the most collectors value. From looking at your bike and photos of the 1970's De Rosa's I woud guess that yours is more modern than that (based on the fact that all the 70's bikes seem to have chrome lugs and no braze ons). Probably the best way to find out more would be to check out the serial number on the frame, you never know you might get lucky. (post the number on here and if I have a moment I'll have another look).

Second, I always enjoy a good fixie project, and I have had a thing for de Rosa s since I began cycling/tri a couple of years ago (never owned one but I love the styling). Depending on the frame size I might be interested in taking it off your hands. I'm currently a poor graduate student and don't have much to spend so I'm affraid the collectable price bracket would be well beyond my means, but if you are after a quick sale then maybe we could come to an arrangement?
  • and comes with black and red carbon fibre bottle holder, therefore worth more
  • md6md6 Posts: 969