Home Chat General Chat

IM 70.3 Advice Required

Hello All,

I'm doing the swiss 70.3 in June 2010, it's my first time and was hoping someone could answer the questions below.

1. Getting there with equipment, how easy is it to transport your bike are the airlines happy enough to take them and are the charges excessive?
2. Does anyone know of a reasonable hotel near the event?
3. Do you need a race license to compete?
4. Any other advice would also be greatly appreciated

Comments

• diddsdidds Posts: 655
    in my limited knowledge..

1. Getting there with equipment, how easy is it to transport your bike are the airlines happy enough to take them and are the charges excessive?

most airlines will transport bikes ... BUT...

* the no frills guys are fairly expensive and there are plenty of horror stories about being fleeced for more when on the return leg despite you being able to produce conditions of carriage and receipts etc.

* other carriers charge more but may be less hassle

*BA (amongst possibly others) include bikes in their fairly generous allowances (23 Kg within europe IIRC). So if you have one bike bag/box and two carry on hand luggage items for the rest of your gear (wetsuit etc) you are in the clear (and if your bike box conforms to their max measurements of course). If you are not travelling alone you should be fine; I'm on my own to Vienna in may now and it will be interesting what i will end up wearing when not racing!

3. Do you need a race license to compete?

The race T&Cs should outline this.

didds
  • DanteDante Posts: 22
    Hi there,

I did the Swiss half this year - amazing event - you'll love it.