Home Chat General Chat

Torn between Tri Bars... Never a good place to be!

Excuse the title, I'm after some advice please:

I've been looking wistfully at tri bars for my road bike and stumbled upon these 'Deda Parabolica Uno Tri Bars' for £44.95.

(http://www.parker-international.co.uk/10776/Deda-Parabolica-Uno-Tri-Bars.html?referrer=froogle&utm_source=google&utm_medium=froogle&utm_campaign=pid10776)

At approximately 180 grams they seem to be VERY light and VERY cheap. I've looked them up on various sites and all seem to quote 180g at around the £45-50 mark.

Am I missing something here? I'm also VERY new to triathlon, but I have worked out that weight is inversely proportional to price! Has anyone tried these or similar Deda bars? Presumably the weight is a misprint or do they snap off if the wind changes direction suddenly or something?

The alternative choice to date is the '6061 T6 Aluminium Tranz-X Clip-on Tri Bars' for £42.95 at 450g, which the mounting brackets do look a LOT sturdier on. Given that I usually buy solid and dependable over cutting edge these look more like it.

(http://www.amazon.co.uk/6061-Aluminium-Tranz-X-Clip-Bars/dp/B002NQ31KA/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&s=sports&qid=1252348056&sr=1-5)

Ideas on a postcard please... many thanks.

Comments

• ZacniciZacnici Posts: 1,385
    Well the first set are alloy and the second alu so we are not talking about anything flimsy.

The weight of your upper body rests on the rests, you should not be gripping on for grim death as that engages all sorts of muscles in the back needlessly and causes fatigue so again no major issues there.

Apart from weight the first is a 'ski' type that I like and the second is an S type which looks looks all sexy and aero but I would point this article out to you:
    http://www.bikesportmichigan.com/features/sbend.shtml

Of the two I personally go for the first unless someone else can point out a better bargain