Home Chat General Chat

Will Triathlon Eat itself?

I first read the topic title and thought well if its got fruit and choclate on I would eat! Them read the actual content and Conehead had present a really interesting thought!

There are some terrible events out there but is that because the organisers dont seem to see that rookies are the bigger picture and they are just resting on there lorrals (spelling?)?

As a relative rookie myself I have not been drawn to the big events and stayed local to the club events. next season maybe different as i will start to add in more events so Windsor and bleinham will figure but I will still do the grass route events.

I am now concerned that we might lose our smaller events! i will be defo signing up for the local ones next year and long live all events.

The thing about some big events killing others like the manchester example, is this something we can actually do anything about or is it just going to happen. You cant change society and people seem to be like sheep when it comes to lots of things like which event and only doing the big ones!

Comments

• This has been one of my biggest worries since Concorde was cancelled last week. My fear was more health and safety related, fearing that these smaller local races wouldn't be able to either afford or obtain the relevent inssurance.
  • willtriwilltri Posts: 436
    I don't know - but weren't PWEI great!!
  • Not whilst there are enough people wanting to do the sport for the dozens of different reasons.
    There will be those triathlons that get a reputation for being badly organized and obviously cutting corners on expendeture. At the other end of the scale there's event's like Ripon and Chester which are well organized, organized i believe by the triathlon club's there.