Home Chat General Chat

Swim time?

I have my 2nd OD tri this weekend, and it will be my last of the year before i start my base training on the bike and swim for next year (and Ironman). Before i start my base training on the swim, I was interested in finding out what is a reasonable time for the 1,500m swim? In my other tri I swan the 1,560m course (plus the extra from me swimming in zig zags) in 33mins, so i guess i can knock maybe 3 mins off that from the course being slightly shorter and more practise of sighting since then meaning i only go off course to the tune of 100 not about 200m.

So what is everyone else's swim time?

Comments

• JulesJules Posts: 987
    I just did 31 minutes for 1500M at Bala Tri last week. This is my best time so far, but I'm pretty slow.
  • 36mins I'm still learning technique, never was great at swimming
  • I still avaerage between 29 and 33 minutes, depending on conditions, course etc. I know I could go quicker, but I've been concentrating on stroke efficiency rather than pure speed. As I'm stepping up to IM next year I think it's the efficieny is more important to me.
  • I think around the 30-31min mark is the average for age groupers, so a decent enough time (that's me too).

If you can do this and still feel pretty fresh out of the water then you're in good shape I reckon. My plan is to go quicker though... Want to get nearer 26 (haha yeah right Dave) if I can. Have to work on increasing stroke rate though with out losing form.
  • md6md6 Posts: 969
    i'm hoping that i can get more efficient too dave for the same reasons, ideally i'd like to be able to do the 1,500 in about 25 although i doubt that'll happen... still I can dream!
  • risris Posts: 1,002
    i have swum 1500 in 27mins, but usually i'm around 30min split for swim (including the time out of the water and run to the timing mat).