Home Chat General Chat

another knee injury

bla bla.. ITB is acting up.. i was out for a 20k run and after 10k I was reduced to a limp.

Anyway i know its due to pronation. Im not a bad pronator but after the mileage clocks up it can build up pressure i suppose. Anyway. I cant afford new runners so gonna buy some insoles..(mmoney is going to the physio instead)

Has anyone used "Footdisc Support Insoles" they are on wiggle? Or can anyone advise on insoles for pronation.

(A very sore) IK

Comments

• willtriwilltri Posts: 436
    have you tried a foam roller - did the trick for me...
  • ironkavironkav Posts: 259
    Hey,

I havent. A guy at work just said that to me 2 mins ago.

Did it take long to sort out? Does it give a good deep rub?

IK
    Basically - i've found the harder the roller the better.

I got mine from http://www.physiosupplies.com/acatalog/ ... _45cm.html

Lie on your side like a plank and roll the ITB over the roller for as long as you can stand.

Pretty painful but i'm sure it sorted me out.

It's not perfect as the ITB keeps on coming back but then do a bit of roller and it goes away.

This is probably down to me not continuing the roller when the leg feels better - will i ever learn?????

Good luck
  • foam roller helps, but stretching has cured me after a year of problems,
    i will a to atempt to descrbe,
    stand straight, cross legs over so the leg that is crossed is bent at the knee and your balancing on your toe of the bent leg ,
    the other foot [straight leg ] should be flat on the floor,
    now lean to the side of the straight leg and hold for 30 secs, do this twice on both sides,
    i do this morning and evening & before and after a run,
    it stretches the itb from the hip, and so far has cured my problems. if i can find a better desciption i will post it , good luck.
    Brilliant.

I have physio booked, but future prevention is what i want.

Cheers to both of you.

IK