Home Chat General Chat

Help - career change?!?

hello,

this is a bit of an odd first - and bloody long! - post but bear with me and if you have any advice, please help!

i am a 30yo project manager in the public sector (MoD), doing pretty well for my age but not really fulfilled if you get my drift... i fell into project management by accident having completed a sociology degree at UWE (Bristol) and then stayed in city, applied for a few jobs and joined the MoD. i then did a masters in a defence related subject and really enjoyed my dissertation which was studying training effectiveness.... although i enjoy my job, i cant bear to think of myself as staying there for another 35 years until i retire and although i had some plans to emmigrate with Mrs HBM, they have been put on hold for a while..... so what do i want to do....

well, last year i started running competitvely - as in, entering races, not being competitive in them! ;-) - but over the last year or so my interest in multi-sport races has really taken off and i have entered a few. my running has also improved a fair bit. i am not going to win any events without some serious changes to my diet and training but thats probably where i lose interest in the events and they go form being something fun at the weekend to something where i will be frustrated if i dont do as well as expected....

i am now looking at a sports psychology Msc or something similar (part time or distance learning) primarily for fun but also as a second career option. I have the limited knowledge of psychology from my degree but i really dont know where a sports psychology MSc could take me and what sort of career could blossom from it. Am i right to assume that that to make money from something like that i would need some credible results behind me, and then someone i work with to also achieve a credible set of results? how do i find this "someone"? and is a lack of personal results going to hold me back?