Home Chat General Chat

Lactate Threshold Testing.. for dummies!

Guys and Gals,

I am afraid i have to hold my hands up and say i dont understand!
My club has secured a deal with a local Uni to do our Lactate Threshold levels for cycling and running.
The problem is that i dont really understand what it all means! These levels are supposed to help you with training etc. In laymans terms i.e me, does this mean that once you level threshold is determined, does this give you a max heart rate you must keep below during training, or a min heart rate to maintain to achieve good results etc? Could somebody break it down for me? I dont think i will get it done, but i have been given a heart rate monitor so mauy utalise that.

thanks in advance

Comments

• Ok, I'm not an expert but I'll start the ball rolling. For one thing go and get it done, if you want to do longer distance races this measurement is very useful for both training and racing and you will probably learn a lot from the guy doing the test. In a short race you can blast away as hard as you can, I think the rule of thumb is you can do 60-90 mins giving it socks before your lactic acid builds up and your sugar levels get used up. So all fine for a sprint, but if you're doing an Olympic it means if you blast out the bike you'll get off for the run and wonder who switched your legs for an eighty year olds (I'm hoping I'm not the only one who's first OD was like this!). So it's good to stay under your lactate threshold target for the bike so that you can run at a reasonable pace.
    For training it's also useful, because this time of the year you don't want to be doing too much above your threshold or you'll get overtrained ( this is one topic I can claim a bit of expertise) and you step it up closer to race time. Otherwise you're just guessing your training sessions.