Home Chat General Chat

Iron Man switzerland

Hello , I'm new to 220, triathlon & this forum so tolerate my ignorance. Anyway I've entered IronMan Switzerland and would appreciate any kit advice especially about the cycle - gearing, aerobars or not, aero helmet or not ... and if so what helmet?

Comments

• steveosteveo Posts: 69
    The swiss ironman will be my first long distance event so i am pretty clueless too.

i have downloaded the course and there are a couple of decent hills and one called "heartbreak hill" so gearing ratios my need to be changed. the run looks to be pretty flat as it runs along the banks of the lake.

i am lead to beleive that there are alot of firemen from up and down the country doing this event, some of which are ironman veterans and so i suppose we could plea to them if any of them are out there!?!?!?!!?[:D]
  • jonEjonE Posts: 1,113
    Hi, I have done Ironman Switzerland twice,the swim is pretty flat unlike the bike course,but standard bike gearing should surfice,as you have downloaded the course you should realise that there are only 3 hills its the second one that gets me as it is very drawn out but you should hit over 50mph on the descent.There is very little shade so sunscreen is a must if the weather is forecast to be good,2 years ago it hit 35 celcius.It is well organised the pasta party/awards meal is held some way away from the event centre.Any more questions let us know and I will try to help.
    thats great jon.E, thanks.

was i right in summising that the run is flat too?
    Steveo,yes it is flat apart from the odd undulation as it weaves around the parks and lakeside,the aid stations are well stocked ,large numbers of spectators all around the bike course.Think comfort rather than speed,don't race against others race yourself to finish without having an IV drip stuck in you.If you pass someone meandering on the run/crawl chatting with the spectators don't laugh it is probably me!!!!