Home Chat General Chat

What training when?

Hello all,

I am a newbie - Decided to challenge myself and thought I would enter a tri - ( sprint in May ). Have not done any fitness work for a long time so just started running around 3 miles, swimming most days along with lessons ( as I have never been a swimmer). This was all about a month ago - since then I have bought a bike and started riding around 12 mile circuit. I do this at a comfortable pace, zone 2/ sometimes going into 3 HR.
Yesterday I had another brainwave and entered London tri for olympic distance. I am able to train mostly evenings but am willing to put as much time as needed in.
Question is, I have loads of different plans for training and will follow something like the 12 week plan on here for the run up to the sprint and possibly the olympic. But what do I do for base training? Or to fill the gaps between races etc? I guess what I am saying is, what kind of off season / base training should I be looking at?
Sorry if I am talking sh1te but I am just worried I'll overtrain or undertrain and I want to get the most out of the time I put in.
Thanks in advance

Comments

• BritspinBritspin Posts: 1,655
    Welcome to the world of tri.....to answer your Q, if you have multiple plans, then sit down & work out how much time you can realistically devote to training without losing friends family sanity etc, decide on a goal ie just finish, or a (realistic) finish time & see which plan will fit those criteria the best. Be prepared for derailment of best laid plans..eg Oh I dunno, say a load of snow falls, stays put & precludes your Sunday bike ride etc , so be flexible & don't beat yourself up over missed workouts, after all you do have time..hope that helps & keep on asking.
  • Jack HughesJack Hughes Posts: 1,262
    1. Enjoy it
    2. Decide (as Britspin says) how many hours you can commit to each week
    3. Do it regularly