Home Chat General Chat

Shoes & Bikes

Hi all,

I'm a complete newbie to triathlon and am just getting myself kitted out. I have £500 to spend on a bike and have been thinking of 2nd hand. Any recommendations would be greatfully recieved.

Also i'm confused with the whole shoes and cleats thing.I take it I buy them both separately and the cleats depend on the pedals? Which is best for someone on a budget? I really have no clue about them so the more info anyone is willing to give me the better.

Many thanks

Matt

Comments

• risris Posts: 1,002
    hi matt, welcome to the forum and the world of tri...

i'll let someone else persuade you that the 500quid you have for a second hand bike is best spent on a £1000 carbon monster

if you are really interested in clipless (cleated) shoes then i think you have 2 routes open - mtb (spd) and road (spd-sl/look type). they each have their benefits and it depends on what sort of cycling you do and how you want to use them.

mtb type (spd's) are a really good pedal/cleat for the beginner. they are small-ish, metal studs with a 2-bolt fixing. there are tons of pedals and shoes available to match pretty much any budget. wiggle do a really good budget road shoe that takes spd's. you can easily get spd shoes with a recess in the sole to take the cleat so that you can walk (or perhaps even jog) easily in them. they make a great commuter set up - easy to walk in and also easy to get used to and get out of. i reckon you could do shoes and pedals for £60-70 new, perhaps.