Home Chat General Chat

Spinning and road shoes

I'm new to the triathlon game as a whole this year and don't really have any experience with road bikes either. I've just bought a new bike with Shimano pedals and I have got a pair of Carnac road shoes that are using Shimano SM-SH11 SPD-SL cleats - http://www.pricepoint.com/detail/16413- ... Cleats.htm

As the weather is pretty bad here I am thinking about going to spinning classes for some bike training. I've never been before and I was wondering if there is any chance that these cleats will be compatible with the pedals on spinning bikes or is it a better bet to just use normal running trainers?

Comments

• These shoe will probably not fit the pedals in spinning classes, they normally use the SPD pedals that are more commonly found on MTB.

Scotty
  • Hi cjay85

Regularly attend spinning classes and use my MTB shoes having alway found that they use SPD pedals.

If you can find a good spinning class fantastic, worth trying different instructors/classes to find one you like.
  • okennyokenny Posts: 231
    is there such a thing as an adapter??

So that I can wear my Tri shoes (SPD-SL) in the spinning class??
  • hussler.hussler. Posts: 390
    Take a spanner and your own pedals and swap them over for the session..........
  • Doc ScoDoc Sco Posts: 38
    Hmmm Im having the same issue, bought second pair of cycle road shoes so I could attach the right cleats for spinning and not have to faff around changing cleats/pedals each time, only to find I have 3 holes in my shoes and the spd cleats which I ordered at the same time (and was assured would fit the shoes) had 2! Contacted shop spoke to a very nice young man who assured me once again it was possible to get spd cleats with 3 hole attachments. Is he yanking my chain? Am I going to have to invest in another pair of shoes? :roll:
  • risris Posts: 1,002
    you can get an adapter to fix a 2-bolt spd cleat to a 3-bolt shoe. like this one