Home Chat General Chat

A Xroads - Ironman UK 2011

Hi all,

First time post on here so please be kind! First of all let me tell you for the last 2 years since I left the Armed Forces I've led a students existance of beer and terrible food with very little exercise. Before Xmas I decided to change my lifestyle up, I joined a gym and started cutting out poor food and alcohol. Ive been visiting the gym now for 2 months on a very regular basis, but without any real goal except 'loose a few stone of fat!'. My girlfriend actually suggested why not enter a marathon or a triathlon? So I started looking it up and designed my own training plan which I started last week.

I still havent registered for a race as I dont know when I'll be fit 'enough'! I am pretty good on the road bike 20miles in 1hr 15min, running on a treadmill is 5km in 35min, swimming Ive just started.

Ive been reading about Ironman and it swallowed me up reading peoples stories of training and completing. So Ive decided to enter IronmanUK in 2011. I will register for a Sprint in September and then train hard through the winter trying a Olympic distance early 2011, then I will complete the IronmanUK and get the tattoo.

What I want to know is this feasable for a bloke who is about 4stone overweight and can swim 2 lengths front crawl in 25m pool? Am I better off joining a club now ir wait till I have a little more fitness over the 3 disciplines? I figure I have roughly 350 training days between now and August 2011, that sounds like enough to me but these things are easy to plan but hard to come through on. I have a history of starting things but getting bored after a month or so.

Anyway thanks for listening and if you have any comments/hints/advice please feel free to be a clear and to the point as you need to be! Sorry its such a long read!

Comments

• jonEjonE Posts: 1,113