Home Chat General Chat

Gym cycling advice

I am a novice training for an ironman but due to working away from home for long periods I have to make do with standard gym bikes. I've just started trying to build good bike sessions into my regular routine but I'm finding that I'm not getting as far as I would expect. For example, I recently cycled for 2 hours at what I felt was a good pace (HR around 140) and only managed 35km.

Can anyone shed any light on to this? Is it that gym bikes are not very accurate in terms of matching exertion level to supposed distance covered, or is it that I am just cycling at too low a resistance? I consider myself to be relatively fit but I'm inexperienced in this type of training...

Any advice here would be very much appreciated.

Cheers,

Davedfulton

Private message

Comments

• risris Posts: 1,002
    I'm not sure there is a comparison between gym bikes and being on the road. If you are happy with the workout from an rpe and hr side then i'd ignore the distance it gives you.
  • GHarvGHarv Posts: 456
    + 1
  • I'd always ignore any figures that gym machines give. Is it possible that you can haul a bike and turbo trainer around with you as at least you would be on a 'proper' bike rather than a gym pretend bike, which depending on which models they are can put you in the most un-cycling like position, which surely will affect your riding later on. I'm training for Ironman too and have done practically all my training this winter on a turbo trainer - even up to 3 hrs (with a good film tho!). Good luck
  • dont think you can compare gym bike or turbo to the real thing,
    90 mins on a turbo feels like 3 hr on the road if you ask me
  • okennyokenny Posts: 231
    I did a brick in the gym today, I used one of the Spinning bikes, placed it next to the treadmill.

It was great actually....of course I found the spinning bike much better than one of those normal gym bikes...