Home Chat General Chat

Tri or Road Shoes

Hi all

I'm looking at getting a pair of shoes for my new bike (got to treat her right ) and couldn't make up my mind between tri shoes or road shoes.

I'm doing my first tri in May and hoping to get several mor in before the end of the season.

I've got about £100 to £150 to spend and have narrowed it down to these http://www.wiggle.co.uk/p/cycle/7/Sidi_ ... 360045634/
or these
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/p/cycle/7/North ... 360045872/
for tri shoes and these
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/p/cycle/7/North ... 360039465/
or these
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/p/cycle/7/Sidi_ ... 360045637/
for road shoes.

As I'm new to road cycling I'm not 100% sure on what I'm looking for.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Comments

• It dependx are what your Tri aspirations are. Tri shoes are really only of benefit if you are planning onhaving your shoes ready slipped on in T1 and then mount the bike, and get your feet into the shoes as you start the bike leg. The will also be of benefit if you plan on removing your feet from the shoes, leaving shoes clipped on into T2. This is uspposed to save vital seconds in transition, and when practiced and well executed is does. However, a vast majority don;t execure it at all well, and end up ballsing it up. Eithe rhave trouble getting their feet into the shoes on the move, back into T2 the shoes spin on the cranks hit the floor and become unclipped so they have to return to reocver their shoes etc etc.

With road shoes, then it's shoes on it T1 and run in them to the mount line and mount the bike. Running in cleats isn't ideal, but you can get non-slip one for Look pedals.

At some Tri's, Cotswold for example, theires abotu a 200m run over gravel from Transition tot he mount line, doing this in bare foot was a definate no no, so it was shoes on and run.