Home Chat General Chat

Raleigh Road Bikes - any good?

Hi all

I'm new to triathlons and have signed up to do the olympic distance London Tri in August. I'm looking for a road bike - one that doesn't break the bank. I was looking second hand at first, but not knowing what I need makes it a bit tricky. I found a great bike shop and the guy has been really helpful. He has ordered a Raleigh Airlite 100 for me to look at - it should be in the shop this week. The cost is £300. All other bikes I have seen seem to start around £450. As I'm new to tri I don't want to splash a lot of cash on a new bike, but I still want something decent.

Has anyone any experience of the Raleigh Airlite 100? Is this a good entry level bike?

Thanks for any advice! [&:]

Comments

• madnursemadnurse Posts: 782
    HI Cat - welcome to madness that is tri

you asked about the raleigh - it seems a reasonable entry bike but you can get hold it cheaper than the guy at your shop is quoting .. look on ebay they a fair bit less than £300. triathlon is a wonderful place and shouldnt have to cost you mega pennies. You might give thought to borrowing a bike which would save cost or even (having identified your frame size from your local bike shop) look to buying one 2nd hand - saving you money for other stuff trisuit trainers helmet & celebratory beers. many people will be using mountain bikes for their 1st tri begged borrowed or acquired by other means .... have a look see on ebay you might be surpised also look around at tri shops online many have new years sales on last years stock. any bike you get should be roadworthy preferably not too heavy and be mechanically sound. brakes gearing etc are all needed but mudguards lights etc (for racing) arent. London is a good first race as it isnt hilly so dont be worried too much about gearing options. You will do well to find a loca ltriathlon club near you if you can - loads of support & useful training. maybe slot in a few sprint races before london