Home Chat General Chat

Understanding power (or not...)

I’m new to triathlon so please excuse this if the following is a ridiculous point to make:

I’ve been reading a fair bit about power meters and I really like the idea of being able to measure effort accurately whatever the conditions. From what I understand, general wisdom suggests that the best way to use power readings would be to attempt to maintain uniform power for the duration of the race. I wonder whether this is incorrect?

For example, wouldn’t increasing power output down hill as compared to on the flat deliver more bang per watt? Surely marginal speed increase per watt will be higher down hill, so wouldn’t it be optimal to use more effort down hill than on the flat???

I also understand that by increasing power output down hill I will have to pay back more than enough in other sections to make up for the extra exertion. Is there, however, a disproportionate reduction in average speed associated with using less power on up hill sections???

I would really like to see this graphed out because I reckon the following could be the way forward:

• More effort down hill increases average speed by the greatest amount, therefore ride at above average effort on down hill sections (+ 5 or 10% depending on length of section)
• Less effort up hill decreases average speed by the greatest amount, therefore ride at average effort
• Always use flat sections to recover at effort levels below average (- 5 or 10% depending upon length of flat) until HR returns to target HR.

As I do not own a power meter I have no way of trying this out, however, if it was to be tested over a known distance, I’d be interested to find out the effects on:

a) time
b) average HR
c) perceived exertion

If the above is absolute nonsense, I appologise for wasting your time, ha ha!

Cheers for now!

Davy

Comments

• ollybollyb Posts: 11
    Hi Davy