Home Chat General Chat

Nuun?

Quick one in regards to HIM. Is Nuun supposed to be taken instead of salt tablets or in addition to it? Planning my nutrition for HIM, I intend to use SIS gels and some bars/ride shots for the bike.

For the run more nuun and SIS gels with caffeine. Plan is to drink a 500 ml bottle on the bike every hour and start with gels on the bike and run every 25 mins.

Any comments or is there a good thread on HIM/IM nutrition? All being tested in training of course ...

Comments

• just2trijust2tri Posts: 198
    Thanks Mr C, I remember you saying that Nuun once 'saved your life' and the need for an IV in Hawaii.
    Should I consume more gels, more drinks or more other food to increase calories on the bike? Will do Cowman
    - hope to see TeamLaws - so High 5 is on the menu
  • TRIumphantTRIumphant Posts: 850
    I started heeding Mr C's advice some time ago when I started training for IM & HIM this year. My bike rides are now full on feasts. On Sunday I was out for just over 5 hours, and covered 130km's, and during that time I got through 10 Powerbar gels, 4 bananas, 1 loaf of Soreen, 3 bottles of Gatorade and 3 bottles of water. Off the bike and a quick stretch of the legs and consumed 3 more gels, 1 Gatorade and another water. I only needed stop for a piss twice, and ehn I finally got home I didn't have the munchies at all, and waited until my usual feed time for a proper meal.

It does get to be quite expensive doing long training sessions with Gels, but my LBS currently have 342 on all energy products, so it cut;s the costs slightly.
    TRIumphant - do you have a trailer attached to the bike to transport the wagon load of stuff? Where do you put it all? On my 2.5 hour ride last weekend I covered just over 72k and survived on 1 bottle of gatorade, 1 bottle of water and 1 gel .... probably not enough, eh?!