Home Chat General Chat

TT bikes worth the $£?

I'm in my second year of Triathlon and am loving the whole training and racing scene and have been looking at the sexy Tri bikes at the races.
Apart from being aero which will save me a small amount of time on a sprint/olympic is there any other Noticeable advantages to these bikes compared a carbon sportive type bike?
Is it worth the cash for one of these bikes?

Who couldn't live without their Tri bike?

Thanks!

Comments

• okennyokenny Posts: 231
    love mine...

it's sooo nice. Specialized Transition.
  • pataallenpataallen Posts: 94
    geometry is more aggressive meaning legs are fresher for the run
  • As with most things, the answer depends on your own personal situation. A TT bike is a good choice if...

- You've ambition to win your age group, qualify for age group team or race pro in non drafting races
    - you can't get comfortable in the aero position on a road bike
    - you've reached your limit on your current bike and aren't satisfied with how fast you're going
    - you've oodles of spare cash and like to own nice bikes

If you answer yes to the majority of these questions, then yes, almost certainly worth it.
  • FatKnackerFatKnacker Posts: 36
    I agree with Bike-Science. I'm never likely to win my age group and basically use triathlon as a justification for eating whatever I like ('cos I've done the training). I know I could get a lot quicker by slimming down a bit and taking things more seriously, but hey, life's too short. I've got a job, wife, kids mortgage etc, and so shiny kit is well down the list of priorities for me - especially when there are other things I could do to improve my times which wouldn't involve huge expense, such as structuring my training better, shifting some lard etc.