Home Chat General Chat

Crank slipping when putting power down

Hi

Did abit of research and i am yet to find an answer to my problem......

When i try and go fast on the bike and move up gears and put the power down the crank seems to be slipping under the chain.... its rather difficult for me to explain as i dont really know what is going on myself but if anyone has heard of something like this happening, can you let me know what you did to fix it?

Thanks
JB

Comments

• shadowone1shadowone1 Posts: 1,408
    Can you video it and upload it onto you tube?

Then post the link from youtube to here and then we can see what the prob is
  • largeadelargeade Posts: 166
    I'd love to see a video of him going fast, moving up gears and simultaneously videoing. That has You've been framed all over it

I'm no expert, but I guess the first questions are

a) is it the chain slipping on the front chainring or in fact is it slipping on the cassette.
    b) are you changing up the the front or rear gears at the time of the slippage.

If you're changing up on the front it could be the front deraillieur needs adjusting, the rear might point to the chain being changed but not the cassette (or time to change the chain and cassette)
  • BmanBman Posts: 442
    Could it be a worn tooth on the chainring or perhaps a stretched chain,meaning its not slotting in properly? I had something similar once, turned out to be chipped tooth on the middle chain ring in the front. Only really slipped when I put some oomph into it, but was bloody annoying. Had to swap out the chainring, chain and cassette, so they all matched up nicely. It was fine after that, but if everything is new and its just a tooth, swapping that ring should do it. I think..
    by largeade » 25 May 2010 11:32

I'd love to see a video of him going fast, moving up gears and simultaneously videoing. That has You've been framed all over it
    There is piece of equipment that I like to call a turbo.....