Home Chat General Chat

Travelling overseas with bike

Later this month i'm off to Nice for IM. This is the first time i'll have flown with my bike. I'm hiring a bike box from BikeBoxAlan so i'm prepared. However, i've spoken to the airline who have told me that the tyres must be deflated, which poses the question - How will i inflate them again once i'm over there.

I'm taking a small pump to deal with any punctures during the race, but it's no good for sticking a full load of air to start with, its a get me home sort of pump. I doubt i'll be able to fit my track pump in the bike box and anyway the combined weight of the bike and the box already takes me over the 20kg limit set by the airline. I was thinking about taking cannisters (even though i've never used them before) but do you pack them in with your hand luggage or in with the bike to avoid them exploding, plus are they a problem when going through customs???

So how do people get around this?? I was thinking of taking the wheels with me to the Expo with the hope there will be someone with a pump there.

Any advice on this matter would be appreciated.

Comments

• pataallenpataallen Posts: 94
    i've got a very smally pump from halfords, can get 140 with it. i wouldn't rely on cannisters to get you up to pressure! are you sure weight limit is set to 20kgs, doesn't seem much given that most bike boxes are best part of 10kg?
  • wyno70wyno70 Posts: 189
    When I checked with my airline the bike box was exempt from a luggage allowance. All it has to do is be below the max which I believe is 32Kg.

This is on the basis that I have paid £60 extra for the extra bag.

Might be worth a phone call to your airline as you have no hope in the world of a bike + box coming in at under 20Kg!
  • diddsdidds Posts: 655
    full answer... (?)

depends on the size of the box. I just went to Austria 70.3 with a bike box, and I could have fitted the kitchen sink in it! I certainly got my bike pump in it as well.