Home Chat General Chat

Sick after the weekend tri!

Gadzooks,

Did Chester tri at the weekend and now feel sick as a dog.

Time was good, as it was my first OD, and did it in 2.30ish.

Had the typical muscle stiffness, but now my stomachs doing loops, and I have a fever. I guess overdoing it has left me open to child hosted illnesses.

Thinking about it I seem to get ill after comps fairly regularly. Do others get the same?

Still enforced rest comming my way.

Comments

• BexHBexH Posts: 226
    Well done on your time! Hmm, dunno but I seem to never go longer than a month without picking up some kind of lurgy (prob from the general public as I work in a shop), spend 1-2 weeks feeling rubbish and bunged up / achey then get about 1 1/2 weeks of feeling good and enjoying training. This has been going on for over 6 months now and I even got blood tests etc done which came back negative for anything. Someone told me that training a lot can leave you with a depleted immune system even if you try to do the right things like eat properly.... Problem is if it is 'just a cold' do you decide to not train at all or carry on but accept that you won't do as well time/strengthwise?
  • shadowone1shadowone1 Posts: 1,408
    Bex,

Perhaps you need to think about how long you wait till training. I'm similar to you in that I seem to pick up everything that goes around. I used to go back training about 1 day after feeling better when with all intents and purposes the virus was still in the system then bang I'd be ill again.

Now I leave it a good few days after I feel better to ensure that the virsus has left the system. I don't train now when I feel ill.
  • ironkavironkav Posts: 259
    SNAP.

I did triathy olympic last saturday (2.39).

Woke up Sunday with a swollen throat.
    Woke up Monday with a rather sore head. (Bank Holiday)

Been taking COld & Flu tablets all week along with DIphlam spray for my thoat.