Home Chat General Chat

Race / Training Wheels

I only have one road bike and would like to up-grade my wheels to some deep section carbon. (Colbert edge)

Question is?????

I'm a very poor bike mechanic, and have very little time for it self employed/young family. Repairing a puncture is a major hassle for me!

would it be wise to leave the carbon wheels on all the time and train using them? or is that a bad idea?
I do TT's every Thursday night and can't face needing to change wheels every week!!

Also when you change a wheel say from training wheel to deep section, do the gears line up just the same??

Comments

• BopomofoBopomofo Posts: 980
    It would be a bad idea to train all the time on your fancy wheels as they are more easily damaged than training wheels.

Yes, the gears will line up exactly the same providing you don't want to swap from a 9 speed cassette to a 10 speed or something. Save yourself a lot of trouble by buying exactly the same cassette for your carbon rear that you already have on your training rear.

Changing wheels takes seconds. You don't need to be a mechanic. You don't even need any tools. You must have done this before, surely?
  • FirestarterFirestarter Posts: 120
    Trisurfer wrote:

I do TT's every Thursday night and can't face needing to change wheels every week!!

I've heard some lazy shit in my time but this?????

Even a girl can change a set of wheels in a couple of minutes......JEEZ
  • ZacniciZacnici Posts: 1,385
    Hi Trisrfer, how old are your children? Surely you have started their introduction to Triathlon (that way you can sneek past your purchases as theirs past the WAT officer). Get them trained up to change Daddys wheels ... and of course correct tyre pressure, chain lubed and tensioned etc.
  • TrisurferTrisurfer Posts: 228