Home Chat General Chat

Thread for advice on nutrition

Hi all.

My name is Joel and I’m a sport scientist for Lucozade Sport. I am also an age group triathlete with experience of competition at World and European championships for the last 3 years. My job primarily entails helping people understand a little more about nutrition in order to achieve their maximal performance and optimize recovery. With such a large amount of information available to the regular consumer, it’s very hard to distinguish between correct practice and poor practice.

If you struggle to know what best to eat to fuel your body, are baffled by how much fluid to drink during training and have no idea what carbohydrate loading is I’m here to help.

Please feel free to post any questions you might have and I’ll get back to you with some clear and practical advice. Cheers

Joel

Comments

• gozgoz Posts: 5
    Just the man i'm looking for , have you any advice/information on nutrition for an up-coming double ironman. Thanks alot Goz
  • BlinkybazBlinkybaz Posts: 1,144
    I am interested in recovery food.drink and the best times and quantity to use?
    I have been using the Cow and banana shake (1/2 pint of semiskimmed and 2 banana's with some whaet gearm mixed into a smoothie) with in 20 mins of exercise.

Any advice would be fab!

Cheers
    Blinky
  • Hi – thanks for your questions!

Firstly, Goz…double Ironman, wow, that’s hardcore! I’d like to know a little bit more about what you currently do in terms of nutrition, particularly during racing and long training. How you find it and also, crucially, what intensity you work at during a Double Ironman? If you use HR as a method monitoring training pace and intensity, then if you could let me know the % of HR max that you work in and I can give more specific advice.