Home Chat General Chat

GPS or foot pod/cadence sensor

Hi I am thinking of buying a Garmin FR60 with foot pod and cadence sensor for tri and have a few questions:
Can the HR be used in the water?
Can the timer run through all 3 disciplines?
Is there a slick/quick change from the cadence sensor to foot pod etc?
If you think there could be issues, can you suggest other products. Other than the great but expensive 310xt.
It will be for 70.3 and possibly ironman
Sorry for all the daft questions.
Thanks

Comments

• biccybiccy Posts: 9
    Hello mate, im no expert, as im in a simular possition to u, not having a hrm yet, and not knowing which to go for.
    But as far as i am aware/ have been informed, the heart rate function of any device will not work in water.
    The timer function will and can run for all parts of your tri, however most (youll hav to check if the fr60 does) hav a lap setting, which on finishing your swim, if u press lap button, will record your swim time as lap1, then as u exit t1, u can press lap again which will record your time spent in t1 as lap2, then it will record your bike etc.
    As said I'm also confused on which model to go for, if u want gps without 310's price then a lot of people use the 305 (but as not waterproof tend to stick it in their swim cap.
    Whichever u decide on, take a look at this address I was given, as they are cheap www.handtec.co.uk