Home Chat General Chat

Help Blisters

Need some Help.

I just started training for tri and runs were never more than 5k in the past

Everytime i start upping my mileage and pushing myself when running i get a huge blister on the inside of my right foot. seems as soon as i start going to 5 miles or more it starts to split and crack

Is there anything i can do to protect my feet from these blisters i've tried talc i've tried vaseline the rub on stick.

I want to start training for a half IM next year getting the mileage in consistantly and can see this as making the training real no no.

running needs work as it is my worst discipline every time i get somewhere i am hampered with blisters

Comments

• SuttsSutts Posts: 10
    I also suffer with blisters. The key has been finding the right shoes that minimise and tendency towards rubbing YOUR feet, then making sure you have good socks and the are on the foot correctly. You could try 2 pairs of socks..one very thin pair under a normal pair of socks. The socks then rub each other rather than your skin. I haven't found any lubes that I find work for me.

Go easy at first slowly toughening up you skin, you want to run until a blister is just about to form and then let that completely heal. If you can't be bothered to go slow with it then duct tape works at preventing blisters, much the same way as the double sock. Just tape over your blister prone spots. But it can come lose/crease and cause an even worse blister.