Home Chat General Chat

Gear ratios - ironman UK

Hi,

I am new to triathalon and infact cyling too. I have an old emmelle banchee which only has 7 cogs on the back so can be hard to ride up hill.

I am entered for ironman UK - does anyone know if the course will be hilly as if so will get some more cogs for the front as I've only got 2 at the moment?

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• ZacniciZacnici Posts: 1,385
    Hi and welcome.

Well you have set yourself a bit of a challenge; my understanding the IMUK course is indeed hilly.

Can you tell us how many teeth are on each of the front rings, and how many on the largest cog on the back?

Adding an extra ring on the front involves a lot of work and expense so I would not even go there. I also think at this late stage you would probably be best seeing if you can borrow a bike with a 'Compact' set up of 50/39, if possible a 50/36 or even a 50/34, on the front and at least a 25 on the back.If not a 'Compact' then a triple.
  • graham33graham33 Posts: 265
    Zac is right, the gears you have will not be enough. The height gain is 7000Ft + so there are lots of hills.

I would definately advise to borrow one if you can, if not try TriUK because they rent Giant branded bikes.
    they often have triples which would be ideal for a new cyclist.

I am doing it on a compact chainset, which basically means my front cogs are smaller which makes it easier to climb hills but reduce top speed.

What's your Bib Number - mine is 432.......
  • Thanks guys.

My local Aldi has a special offer at the moment - a flash looking racer for £200 with two smaller cog wheels on the front and 8 bigger cogs on the back. I gave it a spin round the car park and it was much easier than my trust old girl. I did five laps of Richmond park the other day at an average of 9 mph, how do you think I will go at the big one?