Home Chat General Chat

Caught the bug.....

Hi - Newbie here looking for advice and re-assurance!

Just completed my first event (Orca Sprint) and loved it - definitely found a new hobby / obsession.

Obvious next step is to use winter to get fitter / better. Big question I'm trying to answer is what type of programme do I need to follow.

I had three goals when I started, finish, enjoy it, get the best time I could - and I reckon I acheived all three. Performance at Dorney Lakes (750m, 20k, 5k) was:

Swim: 15.59 (got to be honest and say that I did breast-stoke for three quarters of the 750m)
T1: 2.02
Bike: 42.18
T2: 1.03
Run: 23.34
Total: 1.24.59

So.... swim obvioulsy needs to get better, lessons are on the horizon. Bike - guess I increse the mileage and well as some shorter sessions working on increased cadence (do spinning classes help, do I stick some clip on tri bars onto the bike?) and how much running should I do (have a off road half marathon scheduled for Oct and will probably to Bath 1/2 again in March).

Last question...... sorry...... is what goals for next year, I want to go up in distance. I'm definitely more endurance than outright speed, but also want to improve my sprint time. would love to do a big event, but also have a half baked idea that I could get to a 70.3 distance with some hard work over winter.

Any and all advice / abuse well received

Thanks in advance

C

Comments

• PC_67PC_67 Posts: 196
    I think they're pretty respectable splits - well done. If you did a 16 minute swim doing mainly breast stroke there's no reason why you can't take a few minutes off that by learning front crawl properly and training accordingly.

Bike: mileage and some interval work ought to lead to an improvement, though obviously I don't know what you've been doing to date. Do you have a decent bike? Going from a decent hybrid to a proper road bike would be a few minutes saved for example.