Home Chat General Chat

Cycling to work

Matt,

I used cycling to work as part of my base training. My distance was much shorter (Liverpool Street to Waterloo) about 4km each way so I used it to get used to cycling for the first time in a decade. I was using a folding bike so the cadence was quite high but perfect for tri training. I found that overall fitness shot up. I then did two long cycles a week in addition on the road bike.

I'd stick with it as its a great way to improve fitness and bike handling etc. but add a decent long cycle at the weekend, possibly as part of a brick session, to improve your overall time.

Wella

Comments

• Anyone any thoughts on putting down cycling to work as part of training plans or not? I'm a novice and so looking to do a lot of base level training. My route is 20km from Kingston to Westminster and did it with a HRM the other day. I instantly go up to 90% of max going up Kingston Hill but then level out to 70-75% (which is where I want to be). However once you get into traffic it goes up and down all the time and there no consistency ranging from 40% (at traffic lights) to 80% (some free road)

I hoping to do Windsor Olympic in under 3 hours this year (I did London in 3 hours 10 mins last year). My cycle was weak and my hunch is that if I rely on my commute 3-4 times a week as my only training, I could struggle again. However it is a great way of combining training and getting to see the wife and kids!!

Any thoughts on this would be welcome!
  • I would definately use cycling to work as part of training.

20km is a good dostance as well.

Remember, a lot of people are struggling to fit in 20km a week so you are doing quite well. However, I would try and extend 2 or 3 of those rides (probably homeward bound) a week to get the training over the correct distance.

• mark26mark26 Posts: 10
    I would try to keep to a higher cadence 90 - 100 which may help with the heart rate.