Home Chat General Chat

Road or Tri bike

Hi
I'm totally getting into triathlons. Iv'e completed a couple of tri's this year. (Blenium/Windsor/London Olympic) And i have now entered the UK 1/2 ironman 2011. And my goal is to do a full ironman the year after. Question? I've been using a Giant bike, rented from tri uk (retail £450) i decided to keep the bike for training for the winter. But come Feb/March i want to invest in a better bike! My budget will be around the 2k price. But what do i go for? Road bike or Tri bike. (i'm new to cycling) I've heard the UK 1/2 ironman is very hilly, so is it worth me buying a tri bike???

Comments

• shadowone1shadowone1 Posts: 1,408
    Very tricky one and very much will be a personal choice. I would say you would be better off with a road and stick some tri-bars on them. Use this time to get to get used to the aero postion and then with time by a TT.

I started off with a cheap road bike, then bought a really good road bike and then coverted to the dark side.

I personally use Bridgtown Cycles in Cannock - Mike is a top bloke and is so enthusiastic about bikes. So much so that I'm travelling down from Scotland again very soon.
  • I am suffering exactly the same dilemma. I have actually put a deposit down (a refundable one I might add) on a comically expensive Cannondale carbon bike. The reasons were that a) they import about 3 per year and it was sensible to put a deposit down to secure one, and b) I thought that I want to do this properly and not want to upgrade again in a year's time. I have been, and am torturing myself over this decision. I desperately, desperately want and need a new job, and am using the prospect of a new bike as a carrot to help me stay focussed and motivated (yes, I know, utterly sad).