Home Chat General Chat

Triathlon/Cycling Newbie - Wheel problems

Hi guys & girls.

I'm a newbie so go easy on me if I'm asking what some may consider dumb questions.

I bought a Giant Defy 3 road bike this year and have been doing alot of road miles in readiness for starting a triathlon season next year. Done the London Marathon previously & can swim too so figured combine the 3!!

The problem I have is the bike is absolutely fine for the level of entry competition I am going for but I am a tall & big guy, 6ft 4, 16st ex rugby player so I am no stick insect & I seem to be butchering cycle wheels like they are going out of fashion!! The factory standard wheels were rubbish to be fair & one big bump in the road saw the rear one off & the front one got replaced as part of a set upgrade. The problem still seems though that, despite me avoiding every bump & dud piece of tarmac I can I still seem to be throwing the rear wheel out of true resulting in loose spokes & interrupted rides out to get in the miles.

I upped the wheel spec to a decent model, more spokes per rim as recommended by a very good bike shop near me but Im still banging spokes & rims, anyone out there in a similiar boat to me in height/weight/build that has experienced this and found a wheel solution that isnt going to break the bank?

Any help, links to products or pics etc appreciated, thanks to all.

Comments

• largeadelargeade Posts: 166
    You're my size and ex-weight, so its feasible. Bontrager SSRs on my Trek.

The only time I've bust a spoke in years is when I was first in aerobars on the road bike, in a fit of clumsiness totally lost it, and had to fight to pick the bike up from a <45 degree angle. I was in the inevitable trees yet somehow recovered it; I'm glad it was just the spoke which broke.

Apart from that I've not had to true a wheel yet.

Thoughts:
    are you avoiding all the bumps in the road, or otherwise ploughing on through.
    Or maybe jumping up kerbs etc?
    bunny hopping?