Home Chat General Chat

race shoes

Hi,
I'm new to triathlons but have run for a few years and always needed support shoes with shock absorber full insoles. New Balance 850. I get a lot of pain in one knee after only a couple of miles if I'm not using these. I have been looking at the race shoes and wonder if they would be alright to use. I'm only going to do 5k or 10k runs. Could anyone give me some advice.
Thanks

Comments

• I have the same issue

I need stability shoes not the extra insert and have tried many styles, i have found saucony the best and will now not change.

I am going to get the Saucony race shoes and see how it goes in my next race.
  • GHarvGHarv Posts: 456
    Depends how you run?

Sounds like you may be a heel striker if you're having those knee problems.

More cushiponing is not always the answer.

Racing flats are fine if you are a Fore Foto Striker and have a good Posture.

Check out POSE running.

Your knees will be glad you did.
  • jonEjonE Posts: 1,113
    Pain in the knee.
    Where abouts,front/back/side/above.

You may be better off with a neutral cushioned trainer and some custom made orthotics.

motion control shoes are generic whereas custom orthotics are more specific to your knee problem.

Just a thought and definately not an expert opinion.

You don't mention your weight,a heavy runner using light weight race shoes,would trash them quite quickly,so cost effectiveness might be an issue too.

Would you rather run pain free in slightly heavier shoes or start quicker and then begin to get distracted by the pain making for a slower run overall.
  • ZacniciZacnici Posts: 1,385
    Just a thought, I occassionally have knee probs and a former Pilates and Bodypump instructor who is a qualified physio (and a real fox) got me doing leg extensions to build up the surrounding muscle - touch wood seem OK now.

Also agree with Jon.E custom orthotics will address your specific problem whereas support shoes are general in nature.