Home Chat General Chat

London Olympic 1st timers

Hi all

Are there any London Olympic 1st timers out there ??

This is my first year in Tri and I was wondering are there any others just as apprehensive as me??

I can feel the nerves already as I jump into the dock to swim to the starting area !!! Thats before swimming 1500m.

My current training mottos are "complete .... not compete" !!! and 1 I saw in the magazine on a Ironman bike course "pain is temporary, pride is forever" (I used that hiking Half Dome in Yosemite last year).

Comments

• dsk699dsk699 Posts: 20
    I did London as my 1st Tri in 2005. I remember being really nervous, but as soon as I started the swim it was one of the best days training I've done. So much support from spectators really pushed me on- especially the run- and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Had a bad injury year last year so wasn't able to do it, but I'm all booked in this year.

You'll love it I'm sure!

Good luck

• DamianDamian Posts: 11
    Hey there ... I'm a first timer too. Saw the Windsor Triathlon on the telly last year, and it looked fun ( obviously challenging ) so I decided it would be something to train for ( and to have to properly train, rather than sweating out a hangover on Saturdays in the gym )

Anyway ... I haven't bought a bike yet, but IronJohn and Co have been really good in offering top advice ... ( I'm currently having an internal Campangolo. vs Shimano 105 debate - 5 weeks ago would have thought this was an resto debate - Italian or Shushi ! )

And I can only do the breast stroke properly.

I reckon I'll be absolutely planking it come the day, but itching to get the kit and get going

Question : Does anyone have a view on the packages that SBR do ? Looked OK pricewise .. just wondering whether the bike ( Scott Speedster S60 was any good .. the guy at the Tri show y'day said it had Shimano 105 set, but it didn't look like it to me )

DL