Home Chat General Chat

eat or sleep

hi guys

as a total newbi to the sport iam trying to sort out my training program.

as i work nights i can train and eat before work but when i finish at 7am

its ideal to get aswim in as the pool is quiet. should i eat or sleep after

the swim as iam concerned if i eat it will be stored as fat while i sleep.

Comments

• Hi topcat, You need to eat! Im in a similar position to you, having to eat just before bed (or train on a full stomach) . Although Im not a nutritionist, I follow a healthy diet. Small healthy meal before bed and graze little and often through the day, making sure i get a balance of carbs, protein, fibre etc.

I train whenever I can and find my weight rarely fluctuates.When it rises its very easy to burn it off.

However, a lot also depends on your metabolism and the type of food you eat. Good luck.
  • thanks for that every little helps
  • Generally you should not eat b4 sleep whenever that is as you food will be digesting as you sleep and could wake you up. This would mean you do not get the quality rest that is needed in a good training program.

However, post-swim you need something - I would go for fruit - something light, healthy and full of carbs. If you are on nights try and eat a main meal about 4am, at least 3 hours b4 the swim.

Again I'm not an expert, this is kind of what I have picked up
  • TurtleTurtle Posts: 29
    Hey,