Home Chat General Chat

Newbie transistion/pedal question?

Hi all

OK I'm really new to triathlon. did my first one last year (came 6th which was nice, but there were only 45ish entrants).
One thing I did learn was how easy it is to screw a race up in transition, probably a familiar story. My problem was shoes.
I rode in riding shoes and ran in running shoes. But the bike was really short at 3k, so it was totally pointless changing shoes. anything gained from the bike shoes was lost on the change, and, dare I admit, the putting on of socks...Muppet Although one guy powdered his feet! So maybe 6th wasn't so great :roll:

Anyway. My question is about shoes, pedals and race length.

In shorter races its clear its better to ride in my running shoes. So what are the pedal options? Are toe clips allowed, or is it just a plain flat pedal job? Or are there any posh tips that a novice wouldn't yet know about which I'm missing? Like for example riding shoes that you can run in?

Race length. My first proper tri this year is a sprint 750m/20km/5km, so I'm torn as to weather or not a shoe change is the way to go? The time changing them compared to what I will gain over 20km is hard to judge (I'm more of a mountain biker than a road bike user you see)

I know that a lot of this will be down to personal preference, but what length of race does the change of shoes start to offer any real advantage over the time taken to change them?

V

Comments

• ZacniciZacnici Posts: 1,385
    Certainly for the Sprint it is worth using cycle shoes and cleats 20K bike section. On Super Sprints it is pretty much up to you but I would go for cages rather than flat pedals.
  • QuitterQuitter Posts: 160
    Depends on the transition area as well.
    Running barefoot over gravel isnt winning!