Home Chat General Chat

Planet X ?

I am currently looking to buy a time trial bike. Was looking at the PX Exocet the other night. Obviously it has good components, is the frame any good ? Or am i better off buying a bike with a good frame and upgrading the components over time. Have been looking at the Cannondale Slice 105, which is nearly the same price. Am i just being a brand snob ?

Comments

• If you buy a Planet X you may have to tie a baloon to it to find it in T1.

There are tons at every race but they must be doing something right - meant to be an OK bike.

Slice is a very good buy.
  • I have a Planet X Exocet and took it out for its maiden voyage last weekend.

I love the bike and the help from Ian Cammish and Rob were brilliant, if you do opt for the Planet X then don't be afraid to ask daft questions and loads of them, they are willing to help in any way they can..

Good luck with whatever you buy.

Tri Pencil
  • shadowone1shadowone1 Posts: 1,408
    I have no experience with Planet X - plenty folks seem to buy them so they must doing something right but I can't help wondering why PX?

How much is the Exocet going to cost?? Say £2k approx depending on the set-up? If I was spending £2k then I would be thinking along the lines not of PX but elsewhere.... can't always help wonder what they have sacrificed in frame quality so that they can spec the bike better.....

just my opinion..
  • TesseractTesseract Posts: 280
    I ordered the 101/83 wheelset from PX. Overall i think their service is great, however I sent the wheels back as I wasn't impressed with the hubs. Refund came through with no hassle.

My view, for what it isn't worth, is PX do great value for the money, but as S11 says, you gets what you pays for, so something is sacrificed somewhere.
  • QuitterQuitter Posts: 160
    Perhaps "other" brands are overpriced? :roll:
    Ask if you can pay more so it ticks the proper triathlon bike box.