Home Chat General Chat

Beginner to IM

Hey hey,

I'm brand new to triathlons. I've not done any at all.... I couldn't be less of a triathlete! Taht all being said I want to do an Ironman.... I hate thinking there is something I can't do - so I'm out to challenge myself and so on... I realise it sounds very naive and all that.

I am an athletic guy... I rowed for years. I packed that in a while back - I've gone through various sporting phases since but never stopped. Searching for new challenges I suppose. So this year I decided to do the 4 peaks challenge. Which is the 3 peaks of the UK but I added the Highest peak of Ireland as well for the craic.... Training is going well - so I've started setting my sights on the next challenge!

Anyway long story short, I decided if someone can do an Ironman then I want to as well...

I've given myself two years to train for it and I have an outline of training goals in between! What I wanna ask is:

Can anyone pass on any info to me that they think can be useful. Dos and donts! Mistakes I should avoid... training tips....Training plans... Really blank canvas here - I won't be offended by pointing out how foolish I am - but considering I already know that - help would be better!

Thanks a million

Comments

• shadowone1shadowone1 Posts: 1,408
    Well there used to be a guy floating around some forums....

he wrote a book once.....its called

How Triathlon Ruined My Life by Darren Roberts.

If you read that then you might get an idea of what training for an Ironman will be like. It will consume your life like nothing before. They when its all over...its what now??? Another Ironman perhaps????

However just don't expect to pick up any training plans or training help from the book - just an understanding of what you will be letting yourself in for and how consumed by the Ironman you will become.
  • jamewahjamewah Posts: 113
    If you do decide to take the Ironman plunge, look for this book for Training plans.