Home Chat General Chat

fear of open water!!

Hi there guys,

i am new to tri, just been training for 6 months for it and decided to bite the bullet and enter a sprint this july. i am not the best swimmer by any imagination, only had a handful of lessons in front crawl but now find myself facing an open water swim. daunting at the best of times but i have a huge far of open water. it may seem a stupid decision to press ahead but facing my fear is one of the reasons to do it. what i need now a pointers for open water swimming and ideally recommendations on where to get a bit of coaching in and around beds, bucks, herts area.

any help greatly appreciated

matt

Comments

• BarGolfBarGolf Posts: 10
    Good for you Matt!

I'd say the thing you need to do is find a look Tri club that has open water sessions and get down with them. The first couple of times it can seem a bit daunting - but personally I now much prefer it to pool swimming.

I don't know where in the region you are - I'm in Milton Keynes and swim with TeamMK. We typically use two lakes, Haversham and Brogborough. Brogborough is also frequently my the Boxfit Triathlon Club from the Bedford area, they also have their primary lake at Box End. Haversham and Brogborough means early mornings, whereas Box End have lunchtime sessions too.

You'll need a wetsuit, but you can get a Tri-specific one for near £100 these days and should last a few years if looked after.

Any of the 'regulars' at these clubs will be happy to give you an intro to open water and watch out for you. (Important - never swim OW on your own).

Can you do 800m in a pool?

(another) Matt.
  • nicknofingernicknofinger Posts: 284
    This place is amazing I don't know how far it is from you. I went here after having a panic attack in the water, 6 months later I did an Ironman. I'd strongly advise getting in the open water before an event.

Really freindly, helpful and a great experience.