Home Chat General Chat

Calf Cramp - Help!

Hi all,

I'm hoping someone can help / offer some advice.

I have a recurring problem in T2, after jumping off the bike & running to my station no problem I almost always get cramp in my calves when bending my my legs to grab the tounge & heel of my show to slip my runners on.

My calves then twinge horribly painfully for the 1st 1km of a run, but I have managed to run through the cramp although this is obviously causing some muscle damage that I feel in days 2 & 3 after an event & resluting in amuch slower run time than I can achieve.

When brick training I have no problem, although I do take longer to change bike shoes & tie runners properly.

I've just (yesterday) started taking a magnesium suppliment that I hope may help.

Any other advice? - I didn't find the article in this month's 220 especially insightful.

Thanks,

Jordyal

Comments

• fire trifire tri Posts: 173
    Hey
    I'm no expert at all
    But is it cramp or just that your stretching your leg too far after a hard ride?
    Maybe in the last bit of the bike ease down a bit and stretch out if you can, calves bit of hamstrings and back.
    i was terrible in my first few tri's cos I came into T2 flat out and tried bending etc then running and normal speed without stretching a bit on the bike, third tri was tatton olympic and down the final run in on the bike I was stood up and stretched out a bit, the run went fine for me with no pains when in T2 and the first bit, and my bike time was faster than I'd expected so was like I was going that easy, ( for me)
  • jordyaljordyal Posts: 18
    Not a bad idea - i'll give it a try.
    Thanks
  • shadowone1shadowone1 Posts: 1,408
    Hvee you had a bike fit down? Perhaps you are using the calves during the bike and not engaging the quads/ hammies enough.

You could try and push one leg done and with your heel, pull back on the pedal so that the heel is at 7/8 oclock and toes pointing upwards.