Home Chat General Chat

Windsor Triathlon - Whatever happened to Triathlon being the

How bitterly disappointed was I to be turned away from the Windsor Triathlon a couple of weekends ago because I mis-read the rules and hadn't racked my bike the day before. I hear you, I hear you, yes I am an idiot, and I've been enjoying Tri in my amateurish way for over 10 years now and should know better. I should have read the regulations but I hadn't.

I am not able to race that often these days. Work and kids have taken priority but the couple of times I manage to get out during the course of a summer are fantastic. I'd not raced Windsor before and was so looking forward to it. After a full day of family activity on the Saturday which included 50 members of the family for bbq (still clearing up at 11pm, not the bet prep), I got up at 4 am to get to Windsor early to rack my back. The race director was completely unforgiving. Surely you make rules, knowing that a few will legitimately mess up. I pleaded calmly but persistently and guess what, the race director started to tell all of her colleagues that I was making trouble. I was mortified, at not being able to race and at the rudeness of the race director. I was told in a snobbish voice that "this wasn't some Tri set up in a field". Granted I realise that but really...Whatever happened to Triathlon being the friendliest and most welcoming sport in the UK.

Not impressed. For a few hours I fell out of love with Triathlon but it didn't last. I drove home and raced the same distance on my own using my local pool just in order to calm myself down. Thanks for nothing race director, I won't forget your unhelpful, unwelcoming attitude.

Comments

• shadowone1shadowone1 Posts: 1,408
    I'm not condoning the behaviour of the race director in anyway as I feel that there is a line and by telling marhsalls you are causing trouble then he crossed it.

Tri isnt cheap, race fees are rocketing and mistakes can happen.