Home Chat General Chat

Improving 5km time in one week

Hi I am looking for some advice with my running I currently have a 5km PB of 21.01 and im looking to go sub 20min but have no idea what sort of training is going to get me there. A normal week for me would consist of about 40miles of running but my training is so misguided Im not really sure what is getting results and what is just junk miles.

any help would be great

Cheers Adam

Comments

• HarryDHarryD Posts: 425
    Get in touch with a coach!

It takes a good book to describe fully how to do it. A coach can distil all thatr info & focus it on you. 5% inprovement can be hard & there are no short cuts.

HarryD
  • Thanks for the reply but Im a bit new to this do you know where the best place to start looking for a coach would be?
    Can either go to the BTF website and look on 'Coaching' then 'Find a Coach' or could join either your local Tri or running club but check out what coaching they do (and their qualifications) before hand.

Look for at least BTF/ UKA Level 2 for group coaching or BTF/UKA Level 3 for 1:2:1

Hope this helps

H
  • Harry you are looking at a 5% improvement here, and you need to be realistic.

Your current time is I suspect not bad, it is faster than me, but you do not give your age or experience. Whilst 40 miles a week is reasonable for a triathlete at what pace/intensity are you doing your current training?