Home Chat General Chat

First Wetsuit

Hi All

Hope everybody is well. I have completed my first season albeit a short one. 2 Triathlons a half marathon and a couple of 10K races. However for next season I am looking to do more triathlons. Can anybody recommend a good wetsuit that isn't silly money as I have never competed in open water events before.

Many thanks.

Mathew

Comments

• Hi Matthew

This is a common question - I'm no expert but this is all I'd say.

All entry level wetsuits are very similar in terms of performance, price, features and quality. You could argue that if you spend more you get a better wetsuit but I'm actually not sure that true tbh.

I'm a big fan of Blueseventy gear..... Their entry level suits are pretty good.

But the most important thing you need to look for is the fit. Get this wrong and you wasted your money. Try on as many as you can... Some places allow you to try them in endless pools.

So, fit is everything, brand loyalty, looks etc come after that.
  • BlinkybazBlinkybaz Posts: 1,144
    Hi Matthew

Willieverfinish has hit the nail on the head. Fit is king.
    A first wetsuit is not the best thing to buy off of a size chart over the interewb.

Get yourself to a Tri shop with an endless pool and try them out. If you are southwest then TriUK in Yeovil are a good start point. They have an endless pool. They also do hire suits for a season.

But be warned, FIT IS KING. it should be a glove.

Blinkybaz
  • fire trifire tri Posts: 173
    I agree with the above comments, but nothing wrong with getting em off the web if you've tried em on and know your size!!!
    I got a blue70 axis for £135 brand spanking new one, in about june.
    They normally retail at £400, but are now down to £200 cos end of the season.
    Very good wetsuit for runners and cyclists as loads of bouyancy in the legs.
    Have a shop round for fitting, then look round again for the bargains.