Home Chat General Chat

Triathlon Newbie

Hi all,

I am a complete Triathlon newbie and am contemplating doing a few races this year. I have completed a couple of semi marathons, cycle a few times a week to work and swim an hour a week. I am planning to enter a couple of sprint distances in the may / July period to warm up and do an olympic distance in August or September. I have got a couple of questions concerning the kit as I am trying to minimise the cost.

1° Swim: I have seen a couple of companies are renting wetsuits. Has anyone tried this option before?
2° Bike: I only have a £500 mountain bike. I was wandering if fitting road tyres would be enough, might consider buying clip on bars. Would I look stupid on race day?
3° Run: no questions really

Not in the race to win, just a finisher, but I wouldn't mind finishing the OD with a sub 2h30. Thanks for your help.

Comments

• BlinkybazBlinkybaz Posts: 1,144
    ok, welcome to triathlon and its ever growing popularity.

1. Swim, I have never rented a wetsuit but lots of people do. It will cost you around £50-£70. Just make sure you get the size right. A bad fitting suit is bad. Fit is as we say KING!

2. Bike, yes fitting slick tyres to your MTB is a great idea. As for looking silly or daft! Who cares, you are out there doing it. Clip on bars would get you in a better position but I would try without first to see how much you like tri and put the money towards a road bike later.

There is a ton of kit you could buy and most of it looks great but has no effect on speed.
    I would however look into getting a number belt.

Good luck.

Blinkybaz
  • ZacniciZacnici Posts: 1,385
    Hi and welcome to our crazy world.

AS above.