Home Chat General Chat

Tufo Tub Tape?

Hi!.....Just Wondering has anyone tried using Tufo Tub Tape on Continental Competition Tubulars?

If so how did it work out?......Good bond?

Nige

Comments

• Just use jantex

Hussler gave me some advice a couple of years ago

Its great stuff. I have no idea about Tufo tape but I can vouch for Jantex 100%
  • shadowone1shadowone1 Posts: 1,408
    As Ben said +1

Jantex is bloody sticky stuff. Haven't used Tufo as I've not needed to switch from Jantex
  • Cheers Guys!........The reason why I asked was as I'm new to the use of Tubs, I'm just trying to find the easiest stuff to use should I puncture in an event, and was concerned with the backing paper tearing as I've seen a few review's mentioning this and didn't want to be faffing around trying to finish peeling a torn piece of tape lol.

Don't mind taking the time to do it at home in the garage with the posible complication of torn tape e.t.c. but would rather not have complications in a race!

Am I reading to much into the whole process?

Nige
  • Just to add to the above......it was jantex reviews I'd read concerning the tape tearing!

Nige
  • AvoneerAvoneer Posts: 174
    Hi,

Yes it tears, but it's easier to get your tyre off than Tufo.

Do it this way (my vid) to make it easier: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2foDqzXE ... AAAAAAADAA

Put your spare tub on your wheel 1st though overnight - no tape - pump it up to 100 ish psi and take it off in the morning - then it will be easier to fit come race day if you need to change your tyre (it will be pre-stretched then).

Peel off one side of the tape and stick it to your wheel - then fit your road tyre, then do as my vid.

If you get a flat, just rip off the old tyre and there will be enough glue residue form the tape to hold the spare on until you get home.

Hope that helps,

Pat.
  • Cheers Pat!.........just concerned with the tub coming off when not replacing tub tape
  • AvoneerAvoneer Posts: 174
    Hi,