Home Chat General Chat

marathon training in 4 weeks?

Been looking to do a marathon on the 28th february. Did truro half marathon in september in 90 minutes, a 10 mile race in 64 minutes and the grim challenge (8.5 mile cross country) in 56 minutes early december.
Only did a few 10 and 15 Km runs at christmas but i'm now revising for exams which leaves me little time to train until end of january. Have I got enough time to be ready for D-day?

Comments

• I think you need to ask yourself what do I realistically expect from the event and what price are you prepared to pay in the following few weeks. If you were asking the question can I do a 26 mile sponsored walk the answer is yes you sound reasonably fit!

What would be a mistake I feel and I am no expert in running is going into the event in a worse state than you are now because of pushing things too hard in training. If your current long runs are around the 12 mile mark as a guess you are not going to be able to build the milage up in that time safely so I would say get in another 13 mile run and then a 15mile long run and leave it at that otherwise you are inviting on a few niggling injuries. My training aim would be to then run consistently at lesser distances 6 times a week to put some overall volume in and tapper this off drastically a week to ten days before the event.

In the event pacing will be important don't go off at your half marathon pace take at least the first half easy, you can always speed up towards the end if you feel good. Will it be your best ever race time, no, but this doesn't mean it should not be enjoyable.
  • Thanks!
    To be honest I just want to be able to run right to the finish line and i don't want to be injured for a whole month after. Sounds achievable as long as i'm carefull...