Home Chat General Chat

Will the Garmin 305 GPS work in London??

Hi All

I'm fairly new to Tri (first sprint in June and Olympic in Sept) but have run for a while. I have never used a GPS etc before for training and when I trained for the marathon a few years ago went on the 'plod' theory of simply putting in distances to 'get around' the 26 miles.

Since starting my Tri training I have decided to focus on a more structured training plan with intervals, hills etc on the runs which I have found immensely helpful.

My issue is now that I can only do these in the gym as I have no way of marking out the distances when out doors (don't really want to have to sit pre planning it) so was looking at getting a GPS watch to help with intervals. Have read a lot on which is best and roughly narrowed down to a 305 (as don't have a fortune to spend in the newest versions) however have just read a couple of articles that state that the GPS is not good in central London. My local route's are around Hampstead Heath and Finsbury park which are pretty central so worried that i'm actually going to spend money on something that doesn't work where I run!

Any thoughts, advice and help greatly appreciated! Thanks

Jeanette x

Comments

• bathtubbathtub Posts: 280
    As I don't live in London I cant answer Your GPS question but an option is to buy a Garmin footpod which attaches to your trainer laces and is compatible with the Garmin 305.

You should be able to find some good prices on the 305 due to a lot of folks upgrading to 310XT and 910XT.

Good Luck and happy Training
  • NettyNetty Posts: 9
    Thanks, thats great - never realised I could get a foot pod. I think i'll try and pick up a bargain 305 on ebay and see if the GPS works first, if not I will get the foot pod - was worried I was going to get the garmin and find that it was useless for my training - at least theres a definite back up option that will mean that it still helps

Thanks again
  • HarryDHarryD Posts: 425