Home Chat General Chat

HRM

Hello all

I'm new to both the sport, in that I've never done one, and new to the forum bar one post last week.
I wanted some advice on buying a HRM that I can use for running, cycling and ideally swimming, although it appears for my budget the latter is well out of the question! I'm not fussed on GPS as I usually have my phone on me and use the Edomondo App for that. My budget would be around £100 although I may stretch another £50 if it's really worth it.

Any suggestions would be greatly received

Cheers

Comments

• I bought a Garmin Forerunner 110 which came with HRM for £118 from Amazon

Overall I'm very pleased, doesn't work in the pool though, i expect the price has dropped now and you could get a different model or buy 2nd hand?
  • Hi bgreer,

I bought a Polar RCX5 for £180, It comes with a separate GPS Pod which comes with a arm strap, although the Gps Pod isn't 100% waterproof I put it in a seal-able plastic bag in the arm strap, under my wetsuit whilst open water swimming! I know this isn't ideal but it is one of the few HR monitors out there that records HR whilst swimming ( GPS Pod is rain/splash proof).

You can also purchase a foot Pod to enable accurate mileage and cadence measurement on a treadmill for example.

You can then upload the data to a computer and view everything from the training/race there.

All in all It's a really nice HRM which is a lot smaller in size on your wrist than a Garmin! although It's not ideal having a separate Gps Pod it's very accurate and I've had no issues what so ever with Gps connection, another plus point is that the battery lasts for months on the watch in comparison to a Garmin where it lasts about 20 hrs and has to be charged regularly, and it records HR on the swim.

For the price, a good piece of kit!

Search for it on Google for best price! and there are also reviews on it aswell.