Home Chat General Chat

how should I Train?

Hi All!
I've decided to step up from doing sprint and Olympic tri's up to half Ironman and full Ironman distances this coming year!

I've entered the Outlaw Half June the 2nd, Wales Triathlon August the 3rd and intend to enter Ironman Wales which is on the 8th of September.

I would like to be as competitive as I could possibly be at all 3 events!

So my question is how should I prioritise my training schedule for the three events to achieve the best possible result for each event?

All suggestions welcome!

A little bit about me :-

I've been entering sprint/oly Triathlons for several years now for fun!
I normally finish in the middle of the field
My strengths are Bike, swim, run in that order.

I know It sounds as if it's a basic question, but I've stepped out of my comfort zone and have no idea how I should structure my seasons training and most of the free plans out there don't involve mixing half distance with full Ironman distance.

Pete.

Comments

• gavinpgavinp Posts: 168
    Hi

I suggest that you focus your training on the ironman race and use the other two as 'B' races which will help you keep focus during training and also give you some race practice.

Is the race in Wales in August a 70.3? If it is, then I suggest that you make this a very very easy race for you; as racing four weeks or so before an ironman isn't really a good idea tbh. You wont get any time for recovery in the weeks after that race, when you 'should' be peaking for your ironman rather than recovering from your half; and what a disaster it would be if you injured yourself after all that training and not be able to do the ironman race!

If you want to be competitive (rather than just finishing), you may want to consider getting yourself a coach who will be able to create a bespoke plan for you and be able to advise you on race planning etc.

Have fun!
  • Hi Gav,